I tried 12 meal delivery services

A biased, mostly-vegetarian, mostly-helpful review

Joshua Lavra
5 min readSep 18, 2022

If you’ve been around me long enough, you’ve probably heard me recount the not-so-distant time in my life when my diet consisted mostly of Coke* and Hot Pockets.

Back then, being healthy = low sodium Hot Pockets and Coke Zero.

Now I know, for me, eating Hot Pockets ≠ feeling hot, Coke is an expensive habit, and most importantly, what I eat impacts how I feel.

As my diet has moved ‘healthier’ and mostly vegetarian, I’ve been exploring all the mail order meal delivery services the internet has to offer. While I can cook and still do (and have done weekly meal prep in the past) I’ve found myself coming back to these services for a few reasons:

  • Convenience. Even if cooking meals, especially for more than me +1, can be healthy and enjoyable, the thinking, shopping, cooking, and cleaning these meal services cut out each day has been a welcomed convenience.
  • Variety. There’s only so much of one thing I can consciously eat in a week. With these services, I often have a wide range of vegetarian options to try, well beyond tofu eight ways.
  • Waste. While yes, some of these services are creating non-food waste, the ones I have continued to use have compostable…

--

--

Joshua Lavra

focused on human ways to support the health and happiness of young queer people @Hopelab. formerly @IDEO @EY_Doberman @AirLiquideGroup